Splice-station-sidebar-header
No-podcasts
Ad
 

Books on the Nightstand: Episodes

We follow up some sad literary news with some great book news; we recommend My Accidental Jihad and Close Your Eyes, Hold Hands.    First, the bad news   We are saddened by the report that author Colum McCann was assaulted while trying to help someone during a domestic situation in New Haven, ...
New literary holidays. Separating the author from their work. And we recommend Byrd by Kim Church and The Fever by Megan Abbott.  Happy Tom Sawyer Days! Ann and I are making progress on our BOTNS Bingo cards. I’m reading books then seeing if they can count for any squares. Ann is letting ...
A rant on on people who think they know what you should and shouldn’t read; CallMeIshmael; The Quick and The Painter   Call Ishmael. Really. We just learned about a very cool site, CallMeIshmael, that we love. It’s a site where you can call and leave a short voicemail that tells a story ...
John Demos, author of The Heathen School, and Rupert Thomson, author of Secrecy, recorded at Booktopia Vermont. Audiobook of the week Reality Boy by A. S. King, narrated by Michael Stellman, is my pick for this week’s Audiobooks.com Audiobook of the Week. Special thanks to Audiobooks.com for sponsoring ...
Ann goes to BookCon, Ian McEwan archives in Austin, TX, Emma Straub’s The Vacationers, and Archie meets zombies.     Michael achieved his goal of $1500 and has now shaved his head to raise money for cancer. Thank you to all Books on the Nightstand listeners who supported him!  Ann goes ...
A few follow-ups. What makes a classic a classic? And we recommend Marbles by Ellen Forney and My Salinger Year by Joanna Rakoff.  A Few Follow-ups We’ve had a wonderful response to BOTNS Bingo. If you haven’t printed your card out yet, check out our original post for instructions, and the ...
Spoiler poll results; BOTNS Summer Reading Bingo, Americanah, and Bird Box.    Spoiler: This book has a twist!   First, special thanks to Len Edgerly for inviting Michael and me to be guests on episode 303 of The Kindle Chronicles podcast. Len interviewed us about Books on the Nightstand and ...
Bruce Holsinger, author of A Burnable Book, and Gail Caldwell, author of New Life, No Instructions, recorded at Booktopia Vermont. Audiobook of the week  The Julian Chapter by R. J. Palacio, narrated by Michael Chamberlain, is my pick for this week’s Audiobooks.com Audiobook of the Week. Special ...
All the Light We Cannot See; Michael shaves his head; Twists and spoilers; We Were Liars We can’t read this, but you totally should:   The book that is at the top of my “want to read” list is a book I won’t get to read until my summer vacation. But it’s been getting so […]
Reading and writing on trains. Literary magazines. Delicious! by Ruth Reichl, and The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry by Gabrielle Zevin. On the Writing Side of the Tracks Ann and I both love reading on trains, and it appears that authors enjoy writing on trains. Based on a comment from one writer, Amtrak ...
Listener questions, a discussion about diversity in publishing, and new books from TaraShea Nesbit and George Saunders. Accents, and audio quality We have two questions from listeners this week: Crystal wants a recommendation for an audiobook version of Macbeth with a narrator who has a Scottish accent. ...
Reading by mood. Connecting with authors. 10% Happier by Dan Harris and The Steady Running of the Hour by Justin Go. In the Mood… for Reading Three Hares Publishing in the UK has started publishing books by mood, using what they’re calling a “moodbar,” indicating what sort of state of mind ...
BookCon in NY. Negative reviews for prize-winning books. Books! by Murray McCain, and Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead. A Book Trade Show for Everyone Ellen asked about book trade shows and if they are ever open to “regular” readers. BookCon is a new event that has grown out of Book Expo America, ...
This week, we are pleased to present the final three author talks from Booktopia Petoskey: Peter Geye, author of The Lighthouse Road Edward Kelsey Moore, author of The Supremes at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat Susan Gregg Gilmore, author of The Funeral Dress.         
Ann is in mourning. Studying poetry for National Poetry Month. Plus, new memoirs from Gail Caldwell and Kevin Brockmeier. Ann is in Mourning Ann is devastated by the loss of the Readmill e-book app. Though she still prefers paper books, when she did read electronically she much preferred using Readmill. ...
Fountain pens, fandom, Sous Chef and The Cold Song … More questions from the inbox The Tournament of Books is underway and The People in the Trees is quite the spoiler! I’m watching every round, rooting for Hanya Yanigaraha’s novel which beat Life After Life in round one and trounced The ...
Updates on previous topics. Geek Love turns 25. Recommendations for Apple Tree Yard and A Life in Books. A Few Updates on Previous Topics Last week, we gave Joe from Buffalo a few ideas of authors to read, considering he loves John Grisham and Dan Brown. BOTNS’ librarian friend Carol rightly pointed ...
A few highlights of books coming in August and September 2014, recommendations for fans of Grisham and Dan Brown, book subscription services, and two books we can’t wait for you to read. Big thanks to Melissa Klug for pitching in and hosting last week!   Ann’s turn to tease As you know ...
Sales conference recap. E-books vs. e-books. Recommendations for Provenance by Laney Salisbury and Aly Sujo, and FBP: Federal Bureau of Physics by Simon Olive and Robbi Rodriguez. Many thanks to BOTNS friend Melissa Klug for filling in while Ann is sick with the head cold from hell. The sound quality ...
This week, we’re pleased to bring you the Booktopia Petoskey talks from Melanie Benjamin, author of The Aviator’s Wife, Jamie Ford, author of Songs of Willow Frost, and Mary Doria Russell, author of Doc.             
Please wait...