Splice-station-sidebar-header
No-podcasts
Ad
 

Books on the Nightstand: Episodes

BookCon in NY. Negative reviews for prize-winning books. Books! by Murray McCain, and Astonish Me by Maggie Shipstead. A Book Trade Show for Everyone Ellen asked about book trade shows and if they are ever open to “regular” readers. BookCon is a new event that has grown out of Book Expo America, ...
This week, we are pleased to present the final three author talks from Booktopia Petoskey: Peter Geye, author of The Lighthouse Road Edward Kelsey Moore, author of The Supremes at Earl’s All-You-Can-Eat Susan Gregg Gilmore, author of The Funeral Dress.         
Ann is in mourning. Studying poetry for National Poetry Month. Plus, new memoirs from Gail Caldwell and Kevin Brockmeier. Ann is in Mourning Ann is devastated by the loss of the Readmill e-book app. Though she still prefers paper books, when she did read electronically she much preferred using Readmill. ...
Fountain pens, fandom, Sous Chef and The Cold Song … More questions from the inbox The Tournament of Books is underway and The People in the Trees is quite the spoiler! I’m watching every round, rooting for Hanya Yanigaraha’s novel which beat Life After Life in round one and trounced The ...
Updates on previous topics. Geek Love turns 25. Recommendations for Apple Tree Yard and A Life in Books. A Few Updates on Previous Topics Last week, we gave Joe from Buffalo a few ideas of authors to read, considering he loves John Grisham and Dan Brown. BOTNS’ librarian friend Carol rightly pointed ...
A few highlights of books coming in August and September 2014, recommendations for fans of Grisham and Dan Brown, book subscription services, and two books we can’t wait for you to read. Big thanks to Melissa Klug for pitching in and hosting last week!   Ann’s turn to tease As you know ...
Sales conference recap. E-books vs. e-books. Recommendations for Provenance by Laney Salisbury and Aly Sujo, and FBP: Federal Bureau of Physics by Simon Olive and Robbi Rodriguez. Many thanks to BOTNS friend Melissa Klug for filling in while Ann is sick with the head cold from hell. The sound quality ...
This week, we’re pleased to bring you the Booktopia Petoskey talks from Melanie Benjamin, author of The Aviator’s Wife, Jamie Ford, author of Songs of Willow Frost, and Mary Doria Russell, author of Doc.             
The case of the disappearing paperbacks. Books you may be watching soon. Recommendations for Wake by Anna Hope, and Wondrous Beauty by Carol Berkin. Disappearing Paperbacks? Tiffani from California wondered if books are ever released in paperback, then the paperback is pulled from sale, and only the ...
Do audiobooks count as reading (redux), Literary elitism and self-congratulations, Dept. of Speculation and The Martian.   Levels of Engagement Kristy in St. Louis disagrees with our opinions that listening to an audiobook counts as reading. She wants to know how listening is any different from ...
Retiring a few books. Finding more time to read. And recommendations for The Winter People by Jennifer McMahon and One More Thing by B. J. Novak. We’re Retiring… a few things It’s time to say goodbye to the three Books on the Nightstand books we published through Northshire Bookstore’s ...
A listener asks if we find ourselves recommending our favorite books over and over. We talk about old things. And we tell you about an amazing memoir and a noirish novel of the Jazz Age that is based on a true story. Recycling recommendations: New listener Emma asks: “Do you have a section of your […]
The 2014 Tournament of Books contenders have been announced! Disliking a book that everyone else loves. Recommendations for Kids These Days and The Scar Boys. The Rooster is Back! Every year it seems that we talk about the Tournament of Books sometime late in March just as it’s ending. Not this ...
This week, a special episode answering all of your questions about audiobooks! Thanks to all of our listeners who submitted questions. I hope our answers make sense! We tackle such tough questions as: Do audiobooks “count” as actually having read the book? (Michael and I disagree on abridged ...
I was very honored to be able to interview Charles Duhigg on the publication day of The Power of Habit in paperback, out today, January 7. We discuss the genesis of the book, how to instill good habits in your children, the best habit for readers, “reward salience,” and the new afterword ...
Our reading plans and goals for 2014, and some of the gifts that we put under our trees this Christmas.   Our 2014 reading plans: Michael is not making any reading resolutions for 2014.  Instead, he’s given himself permission to read whatever he wants, because he’s felt too restricted ...
A look back at 2013, our reading goals and our favorite books of the year. Reminder: The Books on the Nightstand 2013 Holiday Gift Guides are available for download here. We really do think there’s a gift for everyone on your list so please spread the word and share the link! Our Year in Reading ...
This week we talk about reading plays, try the “page 69 test,” and tell you about 2 books we should have put in our Holiday Gift Guide.   The play is the thing   “DM loves Prufrock” asked if we had any favorite plays, classic or modern. Michael has been in a few plays ...
Strategies for reading a trilogy; literary charities worth donation to; Princesses Behaving Badly and The Most of Nora Ephron. Reminder: The Books on the Nightstand 2013 Holiday Gift Guides are available for download here. I really do think there’s a gift for everyone on your list so please spread ...
Some announcements and updates, and an interview with Lauren Lovett of Reading Opens Minds, a nonprofit devoted to enriching lives through books and conversation.   A Thanksgiving Cornucopia   A mishmash of topics in segment one this week: My thoughts on the Catching Fire movie (hint: read ...
Please wait...